top of page
Screenshot 2024-02-01 at 2.33.08 PM.png

Dale Coyne

Team owner Dale Coyne is a true racer with a long history in racing. As an Indy car driver for five years, and a team owner for more than 40 years, he is among the most experienced INDYCAR SERIES team owners in the paddock and highly respected by his peers.

Coyne was the only Championship Auto Racing Teams (CART) owner to serve on the CART and United States Auto Club boards at the same time in the 1990s. He also was picked by his fellow owners to be CART’s interim CEO in 1994-95. The next step for this Midwestern entrepreneur was designing and building Route 66 Raceway in Joliet, Ill. This state-of-the-art drag racing facility drew the attention of then-Indianapolis Motor Speedway CEO Tony George and, along with International Speedway Corp. (ISC), they expanded the facility by forming a partnership and building Chicagoland Speedway.


Coyne served as president of the facility through its construction and opening season. Along with George, he served on its management committee until its eventual buyout by ISC in 2007. Coyne has several other investments, including being the largest Sonny’s BBQ franchisee in the country.

As a race team owner, Coyne is known for taking on young drivers and mentoring them in the early stages of their careers. From Dean Hall in 1990 and Paul Tracy in 1991, to current, and two-time, SERIES Champion Alex Palou in 2020, Coyne’s ability to help and coach drivers has paid dividends to the drivers who have competed with his seasoned team.


More About Dale Coyne

  • PRONOUNCED: ( Coin )

  • BIRTHDATE: July 8, 1954

  • BIRTHPLACE: Minooka, IL

  • RESIDENCE: Plainfield, IL

  • MARITAL STATUS: Married to Gail Coyne

  • CHILDREN: None



  • BEST START AS AN OWNER: Pole position (three times)

  • Mike Conway in Dual in Detroit #2, June 2, 2013

  • Sebastien Bourdais – Phoenix Grand Prix, April 6, 2018

  • Romain Grosjean – INDYCAR Grand Prix. May 14, 2021

  • BEST FINISH AS AN OWNER: First Place (Six Times):

  • Justin Wilson at Watkins Glen International Racecourse on July 5, 2009

  • Justin Wilson at Texas Motor Speedway on June 9, 2012

  • Mike Conway at Belle Isle, MI Street Course on June 1, 2013

  • Carlos Huertas at Houston, TX Street Course on June 28, 2014

  • Sebastien Bourdais at St. Petersburg, FL Street Course on March 12, 2017

  • Sebastien Bourdais at St. Petersburg, FL Street Course on March 11, 2018

bottom of page